

MINUTES – AGM SUNDAY 12th March 2023

Darwin Surf Life Saving Club Club House – Daribah Road Brinkin

Meeting Opened: 16:30

Meeting Closed: 17.15

Chair: Bob Creek

Minutes: Carrie Turner

Returning Officer: Michelle Corera

1. ATTENDEES

Bob Creek, Sam Creek, Carrie Turner, Gerry Mclennan, Steven Krohn, Nathan Mccarthy, Michelle Taylor, Sharon Steward, Iain Lund, Janelle O'Neil Thorne, Rick Dalgrin, Beryl Edwards, Stephanie Burton, Kristen Edwards, Andrew McGuinness, Heather Standley, Sirko Schroeder, Tom Lechte,

APOLOGIES:

Bridgett Riggs (proxy Bob Creek), Greg Edwards, Rob Van Wessel, Wayne MacMahon, Lee-anne Kelly, Greg Roberts.

2. CONFIRMATION OF PREVIOUS MINUTES: AGM 13th March 2022 Minutes:

Moved: Andrew McGuiness Second: Sharon Stewart CARRIED

3. PRESENTATION AND ADOPTION OF 40th ANNUAL REPORT

Well done Sam Creek on preparing report. Director's present spoke to their reports. Moved: Andrew McGuinness Second: Rick Dalgrin CARRIED

4. Presentation and Adoption of Treasurer's & Auditors Report 2021/22:

Bob Creek presented the report and gave a short verbal synopsis. Profit for year \$45,000. Cash position atend of financial year \$240.000.Moved: Bob CreekSecond: Sharon StewartCARRIED

5. ELECTIONS of Directors and Office Bearers for 2023/24 Season:

Returning Officer, Andrew McGuiness, took the chair and called for nominations for the 2023/24 season in accordance with the DSLSC constitution. The Following persons were elected:

DIRECTORS PRESIDENT: Michelle Taylor NOMINATED: Bob Creek CARRIED

SECOND: Carrie Turner

TREASURER: Bob Creek NOMINATED: Carrie Turner CARRIED

SECOND: Sharon Stewart

DIRECTOR OF ADMINISTRATION:

No nominations received.

CARRIED



DIRECTOR OF COACHING AND COMPETITION: Sam Creek

NOMINATED: Carrie Turner SECOND: Michelle Taylor CARRIED

DIRECTOR OF LIFESAVING: Iain Lund

NOMINATED: Bob Creek SECOND: Michelle Taylor

DIRECTOR OF EDUCATION: Sharon Stewart NOMINATED: Michelle Taylor SECOND: Steven Krohn CARRIED

DIRECTOR OF INFRASTRUCTURE: Rob Van Wessel SECOND: Steven Krohn NOMINATED: Michelle Taylor CARRIED

DIRECTOR OF MEMBER DEVELOPMENT: Rick Dalgrin NOMINATED: Michelle Taylor SECOND: Bob Creek

DIRECTOR OF SOCIAL ACTIVITIES: Michelle Corera NOMINATED: Michelle Taylor SECOND: Carrie Turner

DIRECTOR OF MARKETING AND COMMUNICATIONS: Greg Roberts NOMINATED: Carrie Turner SECOND: Bob Creek CARRIED

OFFICE BEARERS

CLUB CAPTAIN: To be appointed by committee

IRB & ATV OFFICER: To be appointed by committee

RADIO OFFICER: To be appointed by committee

FIRST AID OFFICER: Tom Letche

REGISTRAR: Rebecca Thorne, to be appointed by committee

SURF BOAT CAPTAIN: To be appointed by committee

SWIM CAPTAIN: To be appointed by committee

SKI/BOARD CAPTAIN: To be appointed by committee

BEACH COACH: To be appointed by committee

OFFICIALS: To be appointed by committee

JUNIOR/YOUTH COORDINATOR: Courtney Wicks & Lauren Gear



SENIOR/MASTERS COORDINATOR: To be appointed by committee

CHIEF INSTRUCTOR: To be appointed by committee

APPAREL OFFICER: To be appointed by committee

GEAR & EQUIPMENT OFFICER: To be appointed by committee

MAINTENANCE OFFICER: To be appointed by committee

FUNDRAISING OFFICER: To be appointed by committee

GRANTS OFFICER: To be appointed by committee

PUBLIC OFFICER: Bob Creek Moved Andrew McGuinness, Seconded Michelle Corera

GRIEVANCES OFFICER: To be appointed by committee

LICENSEE: Bob Creek

SPORTS ADMINISTRATOR: Rebecca Thorne, appointed position

BOOKKEEPER: Carrie Turner, appointed position

CLUB MANAGER: Natasha Chan, appointed position

CARETAKER: Steven Krohn, appointed position

Patron: Committee to approach Lauren Moss

Election of office bearers closed, and Michelle Taylor takes over as Chair

7. Election of Life Members: Nil

8. Notice of Motion:

To meet Australian Tax Office requirements to be a Deductible Gift Recipient clause 7 was changed to the following:

7. DISTRIBUTION OF PROPERTY ON WINDING UP

If upon winding up or dissolution of the Association there remains after satisfaction of all its debts and liabilities any assets or property, the same shall not be paid to or distributed amongst the Members but shall be given or transferred to some registered or exempt charity, having objects similar to the Objects and which prohibits the distribution of its or their income and property among its or their Members to an extent at least as great as is imposed on the Association by this Constitution. Such registered or exempt charity will be determined by the Members at or before the time of dissolution, and in default thereof by such judge of the Supreme Court of the Northern Territory or other Court as may have or



acquire jurisdiction in the matter.

Moved: Carrie Turner Second: Iain Lund Carried

Next Committee Meeting:

7.30pm Tuesday 12th April 2023 @ DSLSC Club House

President, Michelle Taylor, Thank you to all outgoing Directors and Office Bearers, in particular Directors Ray Hall, Sheree Mitchell and Tracy Koch. Congratulations to 2022/23 Directors and Office Bearers and Thank you for attending

There being no further business the Chair closed the meeting at 17:30.