

## MINUTES – AGM SUNDAY 23 March 2025

**Darwin Surf Life Saving Club** 

Club House - Daribah Road Brinkin

Meeting Opened: 16:00 Meeting Closed: 16.39

Chair: Michelle Taylor Minutes: Carrie Turner Returning Officer: Andrew McGuinness

#### 1. ATTENDEES

Michelle Taylor, Carrie Turner, Greg Edwards, Steven Krohn, Bob Creek, Daniel Wicks, Gerry McLennan, Beryl Edwards, Andrew McGuiness, Bridget Riggs, Rob Van Wessel, Ruth Brebner, Peter Wright, Kerry Batten, Naomi Brennan, Ian Jackson, Grant Stirling, Thomas Letche, Heather Standley, Tim Goldschmidt, Jessica McRae, Georgia Thomas, Heather Christie-Johnston, Wayne McMahon, Bjorn Christie Johnston, Lee-anne Kelly, Marianne Foster

#### 2. APOLOGIES

Kristen Edwards (proxy Andrew McGuinness), Robert Thorne, Janelle O'Neill Thorne, Sharon Stewart, Trish Bayard, Sam Creek, Mandy Foord, Cody Stamp

## 3. CONFIRMATION OF PREVIOUS MINUTES: AGM 24 March 2024

Proposed: Andrew McGuiness Second: Daniel Wicks

**CARRIED** 

#### 4. PRESENTATION AND ADOPTION OF 41st ANNUAL REPORT

Director's present spoke to their reports.

Moved: Lee-Anne Kelly Second: Bridget Riggs

CARRIED

# 5. Presentation and Adoption of Treasurer's & Auditors Report 2023/24

Bob Creek presented the report and gave a short verbal synopsis. The final figures from the audited accounts are now available. Key figures from 2023/24 audited accounts

- Profit for 2023/24 financial year \$ 73,449
- Cash in bank at end of financial year \$272, 655
- Total equity at end of financial year \$914,986
- Darwin Ocean Swim profit \$23,327
- Grant income for the year \$40,000
- Investment account \$20,014 increase

# Major sponsors

- McArthur River Mine
- Thank you to our ongoing sponsors

Moved: Bob Creek Second: Daniel Wicks

CARRIED



## 6. Adoption of Annual Report

Moved: Ruth Brebner Second: Daniel Wicks

### 7. ELECTIONS of Directors and Office Bearers for 2025/26 Season

Returning Officer, Andrew McGuiness took the chair and called for nominations for the 2025/26 season in accordance with the DSLSC constitution. The following persons were elected:

**DIRECTORS** 

**PRESIDENT: Michelle Taylor** 

NOMINATED: Bob Creek SECOND: Daniel Wicks

**CARRIED** 

**DIRECTOR OF ADMINISTRATION:** Ruth Brebner

NOMINATED: Michelle Taylor SECOND: Beryl Edwards

**CARRIED** 

**TREASURER: Bob Creek** 

NOMINATED: Rob Van Wessel SECOND: Michelle Taylor

**CARRIED** 

**DIRECTOR OF COACHING AND COMPETITION:** 

No nominations received

**DIRECTOR OF LIFESAVING: Michael O'Donnell** 

NOMINATED: LeeAnne Kelly SECOND: Bob Creek

**CARRIED** 

**DIRECTOR OF EDUCATION: Sharon Stewart** 

NOMINATED: Michelle Taylor SECOND: Tom Letche

CARRIED

**DIRECTOR OF INFRASTRUCTURE: Daniel Wicks** 

NOMINATED: Rob Van Wessel SECOND: Greg Edwards

**CARRIED** 

**DIRECTOR OF MEMBER DEVELOPMENT: Karen Batten** 

NOMINATED: Michelle Taylor SECOND: Carrie Turner

CARRIED

**DIRECTOR OF SOCIAL ACTIVITIES:** 

No nominations received.

**DIRECTOR OF MARKETING AND COMMUNICATIONS: Georgia Thomas** 

NOMINATED: Michelle Taylor SECOND: Greg Edwards

**CARRIED** 



**OFFICE BEARERS** 

**CLUB CAPTAIN:** Wayne McMahon/Nicole Tisdale

IRB & SSV OFFICER: To be appointed by committee

**RADIO OFFICER:** Wayne McMahon

FIRST AID OFFICER: Tom Letche

**REGISTRAR:** Alison McLay

**SURF BOAT CAPTAIN:** Carrie Turner

**SWIM CAPTAIN:** To be appointed by committee

SKI/BOARD CAPTAIN: Wayne McMahon

**BEACH COACH:** To be appointed by committee

**OFFICIALS:** To be appointed by committee

**NIPPER COORDINATOR:** Gerry McLennan

**SENIOR/MASTERS COORDINATOR:** 

**CHIEF INSTRUCTOR:** Not required

**APPAREL OFFICER**: Tricia Bayard

**GRANTS OFFICER:** Sue Neal

PUBLIC OFFICER: Bob Creek Moved Michelle Taylor, Seconded Lee-Anne Kelly

**GRIEVANCES OFFICER:** To be appointed by committee

**LICENSEE:** Bob Creek

SPORTS ADMINISTRATOR: Alison McLay, appointed position

**BOOKKEEPER: Carrie Turner**, appointed position

**CLUB MANAGER: Natasha Chan**, appointed position

**CARETAKER: Steven Krohn,** appointed position

Patron: Committee to approach Lauren Moss

Election of office bearers closed, and Michelle Taylor takes over as Chair



# 7. Election of Life Members Nil

# **Next Committee Meeting**

7.30pm Tuesday 9 April 2024 @ DSLSC Club House

President Michelle Taylor; Thank you to all outgoing Directors and Office Bearers. Congratulations to 2025/26Directors and Office Bearers and thank you for attending.

There being no further business the Chair closed the meeting at 16:39pm.